East Metropolitan Health Service Board

The Health Services Act 2016 commenced 1 July 2016 to modernise the public health system, setting out how we govern, structure and manage WA Health to bring decision-making closer to service delivery and patient care.  

This involved establishing the East Metropolitan Health Service (EMHS) as a separate statutory authority, governed by a Board that is legally responsible and accountable for the delivery of safe, high-quality, efficient and economical health services to its local community.

The EMHS Board is comprised of 10 highly capable and committed professionals with a diverse range of experience across the fields of medicine and health care, finance, law, and community and consumer engagement.

Health Service Boards bring a diverse range of skills and experience to ensure the delivery of safe, high-quality and sustainable health care to our communities.

Board Chair

  • Mr Ian Smith PSM

Deputy Board Chair

  • Mrs Suzie May

Board Members

  • Mr Peter Forbes
  • Mr Ross Keesing
  • Mr Richard Guit
  • Ms Debra Zanella
  • Professor Kingsley Faulkner AM
  • Dr Hannah Seymour
  • Dr Stephanie Trust
  • Ms Geraldine Ennis PSM

More information

Produced by

Health Reform