CPMEC Awards

CPMEC Junior Doctor of the Year award winner Trent Little, with PMCWA Chair Professor Richard Tarala
2014 Junior Doctor of the Year Dr Trent Little with PMCWA Chair Prof Richard Tarala

The Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils (CPMEC) Junior Doctor and Clinical Educator of the Year Awards are presented to one junior doctor and one clinical educator nationally each year.

Nominees are selected by peers or supervisors, and PMCWA selects the WA winners based upon the nomination details provided. All state nominees are forwarded by PMCWA to CPMEC and the overall national winner of each category is announced at the annual National Prevocational Medical Education Forum. Nominations usually open in July and close in September.

Junior Doctor of the Year (Word 141KB)
A PGY1 or PGY2 junior doctor who has made a significant contribution to teaching and learning as a prevocational trainee in their workplace setting can be nominated for this award.

Clinical Educator of the Year (Word 137KB)
A clinical educator who has made an outstanding contribution to the education and training of junior doctors can be nominated for this award.

Nominations for these prestigious awards are currently open and nomination forms can be emailed to PMCWA until COB Friday 26 August 2016 for consideration.

Previous WA winners

Year Junior Doctor of the Year Clinical Educator of the Year
2015 Dr Nicholas Gilbert
Dr Richard Arenson
2014 Dr Trent Little Dr John Ward
2013 Dr Chris Wilson Ms Fran Gratwick
2012 Dr Courtney Majda Dr Ballal Mo
2011 Dr Kelly McNamara Dr David Oldham
2010 Dr Emma Allanson Dr Richard Tarala