Medical Education Officers

Medical Education Officers (MEOs) form an expanding profession both in Western Australia (WA) and nationally. MEOs are from varied backgrounds and the role has become an integral part of the pre-vocational junior doctor's education and training experience.

MEOs support and organise the orientation, education, training, mentoring and supervision of junior medical officers in addition to providing organisational, strategic and management support to the Department of Postgraduate Medical Education. However due to the various settings in which pre-vocational medical education takes place, the role and responsibilities of the MEO vary slightly from hospital to hospital. The follow document outlines the general duties and responsibilities of an MEO (PDF 34KB).

WA's Medical Education Officer Network

Hospital / Health Service  Contact Details MEO/s
Armadale Hospital Veronica.Reid@health.wa.gov.au
Claire.Grant@health.wa.gov.au
Ms Veronica Reid
Ms Claire Grant
Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services Michelle.Spies@health.wa.gov.au Ms Michelle Spies
Fiona Stanley Hospital fsh.meu@health.wa.gov.au Ms Erin Furness
Ms Kylie Reed
Mr Jon Oldham
Ms Nerinda Bradshaw
Fremantle Hospital fh.meu@health.wa.gov.au

Hollywood Private Hospital OwenK@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Kelly Owen
Joondalup Health Campus pgme.jhc@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Michelle Karsdorp
King Edward Memorial Hospital Nicholas.Bennett@health.wa.gov.au 
Mr Nick Bennett
Osborne Park Hospital Cally.Smith@health.wa.gov.au Ms Cally Smith
Peel Health Campus Larmours@ramsayhealth.com.au Ms Sam Larmour
Perth Children's Hospital PMH.PGME@health.wa.gov.au Mr Robert Evans
Rockingham General Hospital Helen.Borrington@health.wa.gov.au Ms Helen Borrington
Royal Perth Hospital Marija.Rizmanoska@health.wa.gov.au
Patricia.Fritz@health.wa.gov.au 
Erin.Grasso@health.wa.gov.au
Ms Marija Rizmanoska
Ms Patti Fritz
Ms Erin Grasso
Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital Trish.Li@health.wa.gov.au Ms Trish Li
St John of God – Midland Brianna.Lock@sjog.org.au
Emma.Love@sjog.org.au
Ms Brianna Lock
Ms Emma Love
St John of God – Murdoch Kelly.Mitchell@sjog.org.au Ms Kelly Mitchell
St John of God – Subiaco Subiaco.MedicalServices@sjog.org.au  
WA Country Health Service pmeu@health.wa.gov.au Ms Suzanne Wood
Ms Joanne Scammell
Ms Vicki Daily
Ms Helen Butterfield

Please note, the details of the MEOs at the regional sites can be obtained by contacting the WA Country Health Service.