Pharmaceutical Services Branch

The Pharmaceutical Services Branch of the Western Australian Department of Health provides advice, develops policy and administers regulatory controls for:

  • medicines, including drugs of dependence (Schedule 8 medicines)
  • therapeutic goods
  • poisons.

The Pharmaceutical Services Branch is responsible for the administration of the Medicines and Poisons Act 2014 (external site) and the Poisons Regulations 1965 (external site). The Pharmaceutical Services Branch Yearbook 2014-2015 (Word 2.1MB) highlights the activities of the Branch throughout the year. 


You can also find medicines and poisons information for:

Areas of the Pharmaceutical Services Branch

  • Drugs of dependence (Schedule 8 medicines)
    Issues authorisations to prescribe Schedule 8 medicines and monitors the prescription of Schedule 8 medicines from reports received from pharmacies. Please note the drugs of dependence monitoring program excludes the Stimulant Regulatory Scheme and the Community Program for Opioid Pharmacotherapy.
  • Licences and permits
    Issues licences and permits authorising the possession, supply and sale of medicines and poisons.
  • Community Program for Opioid Pharmacotherapy (CPOP)
    Authorises prescribers and patients participating in the Community Program for Opioid Pharmacotherapy (CPOP).
  • Stimulant Regulatory Scheme
    Administers the Stimulant Regulatory Scheme which sets controls on the prescribing and dispensing of stimulant medicines (dexamphetamine and methylphenidate) in Western Australia.
Produced by

Pharmaceutical Services Branch