Accreditation in SMHS

Three women and one man, some of who are wearing nursing uniforms, look at a computer screen.Healthcare accreditation is an external review of the quality of care and services. It is “an internationally recognised evaluation process used to assess and improve the quality, efficiency and effectiveness of healthcare organisations”. Accreditation is also a way to publicly recognise that a healthcare organisation has met national safety and quality standards.

SMHS sites are accredited through the Australian Council of Healthcare Standards (ACHS) Accreditation program. An accreditation program provides a framework, typically through set criteria to meet specific standards. The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards are the standards against which SMHS sites are accredited. The Australian Commission on Safety & Quality in Healthcare (ACSQHC) developed the NSQHS Standards with the primary aim of protecting the public from harm and improving the quality of health care. For further information please refer to the NSQHS Standards (external site)

Read more about clinical incident management at SMHS and the Severity Assessment Code (SAC) categories which are a part of NSQHS Clinical Governance Standard.

SMHS accreditation results

Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospital Group

  • Fiona Stanley and Fremantle Hospitals have previously both been awarded full accreditation against the NSQHS Standards, with Fremantle Mental Health Service also being successfully reviewed against the National​​ Standards for Mental Health Services (NSMHS). In 2013, Fremantle Hospital achieved a ‘met with merit’ rating within the Governance Standard which was achieved because the hospital had a sophisticated well-resourced risk management framework which resulted in an organisation with a palpable risk aware culture.
  • In November 2018, the Fiona Stanley and Fremantle Hospitals Group (FSFHG) successfully underwent its first accreditation survey together as one service against both the NSQHS Standards and the NSMHS. Read more about this 2018 accreditation (external site).

Rockingham Peel Group

  • Rockingham Peel Group (RkPG) has also been awarded full accreditation in the past. In May 2017, RkPG underwent an accreditation periodic review accreditation and achieved a number of “Met with Merit” ratings in relation to an organisation-wide quality management system which is used, regularly monitored and actions are taken to maximise patient quality of care. Additionally this rating was achieved in relation to consumers and/or carers participating in the analysis of organisational safety and quality performance, and in the planning and implementation of quality improvements.
  • In early May 2019 RkPG underwent Organisation-Wide Survey for accreditation against version 2 of the NSQHS Standards and the initial feedback from surveyors was overwhelmingly positive, the formal outcomes of this will be available shortly. For further information on RkPG please refer to RkPG website (external site).

Peel Health Campus

  • Peel Health Campus (PHC) has previously been awarded full accreditation against the NSQHS Standards and achieved this again in April 2018. For further information please refer to PHC Accreditation (external link) webpage.
Produced by

South Metropolitan Health Service