North of Perth – country WA


In the far north is Broome, perfectly located between Cable Beach and the turquoise waters of Roebuck Bay. The area has sheer red cliffs, white sandy beaches and deep blue water.

The Kimberley is the state’s most northern region. The coastline faces the Indian Ocean to the west and the Timor Sea to the north.


The Kimberley's area of 424,517 square kilometres is almost twice the size of the state of Victoria, and three times that of the United Kingdom. It features deserts, gorges and river valleys, beaches, rainforest areas and cave systems.

Major towns

The major population centres are the towns of Broome, Derby, Fitzroy Crossing, Halls Creek, Kununurra and Wyndham.

There are also over 100 Aboriginal communities of various population sizes throughout the region and nearly 100 properties servicing the pastoral industry.


The towns of Port Hedland, Newman and Karratha are always busy due to the mining boom. You can relax at nearby Karijini National Park with its waterfalls and gorges.

The Pilbara is bordered by the Indian Ocean to the west and the Northern Territory border to the east. It lies south of the Kimberley region.


The Pilbara's area of 507,896 square kilometres (including offshore islands) contains most of the population in the west. The eastern third is largely desert with few inhabitants. The area features the gorges and river valleys of Karijini National Park and is home to two of the state's most valuable export industries, iron ore and liquefied natural gas.

Major towns

The major population centres are the towns of Port Hedland and Karratha.

Other important towns are Dampier, Newman, Onslow, Pannawonica, Paraburdoo, Roebourne and Tom Price.


Geraldton is a major centre with over 40,000 people and all the services you need without the stress of city living. Tropical Carnarvon is the area’s second largest town. In the north of the region the famous Monkey Mia dolphins welcome thousands of visitors every year.

The Midwest region stretches from the Indian Ocean coastline more than 800 kilometres east.


The Midwest covers an area twice the size of the United Kingdom. It features beaches and coastal islands including the Ningaloo Marine Park near Exmouth and Monkey Mia in the Shark Bay World Heritage area, as well as extensive farmland and inland mining areas.

Major towns

The major population centres are the towns of Geraldton and Carnarvon. Other important towns are Dongara, Exmouth, Kalbarri and Meekatharra.


More information