About the Review

In June 2017, the Government of Western Australia announced the Sustainable Health Review (SHR) to prioritise the delivery of patient-centred, high quality and financially sustainable healthcare across the State. 

The SHR has considered a range of key areas including:

  • ways to improve patient pathways and transition including through primary, secondary and tertiary healthcare
  • the mix of services across the system, including sub-acute, step-down, community and other out-of-hospital services to deliver care in the most appropriate setting
  • ways to encourage and drive digital innovation, and the most effective use of new technology, research and data
  • opportunities to drive partnerships across all sectors and levels of government
  • ways to promote safer and more efficient services
  • implementation of the Review's recommendations in the short, medium and long-term.

The SHR was conducted by an experienced Panel of experts appointed by the Government of Western Australia and chaired by Ms Robyn Kruk AO. The Sustainable Health Review Panel members are:

Ms Robyn Kruk AO (Independent Chair)

Ms Kruk has more than 30 years’ experience in public sector service reform at State and Commonwealth level, including as Director General of NSW Health and inaugural CEO of the National Mental Health Commission.

Dr D J Russell-Weisz, Director General, Department of Health

Since his appointment in 2015, Dr Russell-Weisz has steered the WA health system through its most significant reform program since Federation. Prior to his appointment as DG, Dr Russell-Weisz directed the commissioning of Fiona Stanley Hospital and was Chief Executive of the North Metropolitan Health Service through the redevelopment of the QEII Medical Centre.

Mr Michael Barnes, Under Treasurer, Department of Treasury

Mr Barnes was appointed as Under Treasurer in 2015 having started his career in the Commonwealth Treasury before joining WA Treasury.  He has worked primarily in the areas of revenue policy, economic and revenue forecasting, fiscal strategy, and whole-of-government financial management and reporting.

Mr Warren Harding, Minister for Health Nominee

Adjunct Professor Warren Harding has more than 25 years’ senior management and board experience in the energy, sports, utilities, resources and government sectors and brings a unique knowledge of government, private sector, Information Technology, culture and leadership.

Ms Pip Brennan, Consumer and Carer Nominee

Ms Pip Brennan is the Executive Director of the Health Consumers’ Council and brings extensive knowledge of the community sector and health advocacy, including experience in community midwifery and the not-for-profit sector.

Dr Hannah Seymour, Clinical Nominee

Dr Hannah Seymour is a Consultant Geriatrician, Medical Director and Clinical Lead for Information Technology at the Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group. She is the Co-director of the Surgical and Women’s, Children and Newborn Services, and works clinically in Orthogeriatrics where she has a passion for falls prevention and improved outcomes in aged care.

Ms Meredith Hammat, Employee Nominee

Ms Meredith Hammat has an extensive history representing Western Australian workers and as Secretary of Unions WA.

The Panel was supported by a Clinical Reference Group and a Consumer and Carer Reference Group.

The SHR involved extensive consultation with a wide range of stakeholders including patients and carers, clinicians and front-line staff. For further information, visit the SHR Engagement and Consultation page.

More information

Sustainable Health Review Terms of Reference (PDF 158KB)

Robyn Kruk AM biography (PDF 350KB)

Contact: SHISU@health.wa.gov.au