26 June 2020

Inaugural members of new health service boards named

The inaugural members of recently established boards for PathWest and Health Support Services (HSS) have been announced.

The commencement of the boards on July 1 will mark a change in the governance arrangements for both health service providers – from being governed by a chief executive to being board-governed.

The members bring a diverse range of expertise and experience to their respective boards.

The PathWest Board appointees will join chair Professor Christobel Saunders, AO. They are:

  • Professor Tarun Weeramanthri (Deputy Chair)
  • Ms Michele Dolin
  • Ms Samantha Elder
  • Professor Gelareh Farshid
  • Dr Kim Hames
  • Mr Robert McPhee
  • Ms Angie Paskevicius
  • Mr Kevin Taylor
  • Ms Susan Van Leeuwen.

The HSS board appointees will join chair Mr Michael Walsh, PSM. They are:

  • Ms Margaret Pyrchla (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Paul Boyatzis
  • Ms Cheryl Chan
  • Dr Rowan Ellis
  • Ms Diana Forsyth
  • Ms Amanda McKnight
  • Dr Constantine Phatouros
  • Ms Yasotha Ponnuthurai.

The appointment of the boards was a priority of the Sustainable Health Review recommendation to drive capability and behaviour to act as a cohesive, outward-looking system that works in partnership across sectors, with a strong focus on system integrity, transparency and public accountability.

The members are all accomplished in their respective fields and their new appointments will bring strong leadership to the health service providers.

Media contact: 9222 4333

Follow us on Twitter: @WAHealth