14 May 2019

Congratulations nurses and midwives

The WA health system’s exceptional nurses and midwives featured prominently at Saturday’s WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.

Andrea Rieusset – Nurse Practitioner in the Emergency Department at Fitzroy Crossing Hospital (WACHS Kimberley), was named Western Australia’s 2019 Nurse of the Year, after also taking top honour in the Excellence in the Aboriginal Health category.

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Honour was presented to Professor Dianne Wynaden, Professor of Mental Health, Curtin University. 

This year’s awards introduced a team category award, Excellence in Person Centred Care, to recognise the many inspiring nursing and midwifery teams across the State, which was presented to the Bunbury Midwifery Group Practice for its holistic woman and family-centred model of care.

Other category winners from the WA health system included: 
  • Caitlin Broderick – Excellence in Registered Nursing: Clinical Nurse Consultant – Oncology, WA Cancer and Palliative Care Network, NMHS.
  • Renee de Prazer – Excellence in Education: Nurse Coordinator – Education, Fiona Stanley Hospital, SMHS
  • Professor Anne Williams – Excellence in Research: NMHS and Murdoch University
  • Nathalie Pass – Excellence in Leadership: Director of Nursing/Health Service Manager, WACHS Midwest.
  • Patricia Tolland – Excellence in Enrolled Nursing: Enrolled Nurse, Exmouth Hospital, WACHS Midwest.
  • Elizabeth Churchill – Graduate of the Year: Registered Nurse, WACHS Great Southern. 
  • Kathryn Brown – Excellence in Midwifery: Clinical Manager, Kalgoorlie Health Campus, WACHS Goldfields.
  • Jenefer Arrantash – Excellence in Primary, Public, Community and Residential Care: Clinical Nurse, Child and Adolescent Health Service, Community Health.
  • Di Smith – Excellence in Primary, Public, Community and Residential Care: Nurse Manager, Northhampton Hospital, WACHS Midwest.
  • Gloria Masekane – Excellence in Rural and Remote Health: Clinical Nurse Manager, Mount Magnet Nursing Post, WACHS Midwest.

The full list of WANMEA winners can be found at www.wanmea.com.au