

Terms of Reference Micro-Alert Governance Group

1. Purpose

The purpose of the Micro-Alert Governance (MAG) group is to advise and direct the development, implementation and function of the Micro-Alert System (MAS), ensuring it is consistent with the requirements of participating healthcare facilities and is flexible and responsive to the changing epidemiology of multi-resistant organisms (MROs).

2. Accountability

MAG is a sub-committee of the Western Australian Multi-Resistant Organism (WAMRO) Expert Advisory Group. The role of WAMRO, related to the MAS, is to define the specific MROs and codes for the global MAS and endorse management policy for those MROs. WAMRO reports to the Healthcare Infection Council of Western Australia (HICWA) Executive Committee to the Assistant Director General Public and Aboriginal Health Division (ADGPAHD). The ADGPAHD will decide which issues should be taken to the Departmental Executive Committee; Health Executive Committee other relevant internal or external body.

3. Roles and Responsibilities

- To liaise with users of the MAS (hospital Infection Prevention and Control (IPC)
 personnel) and the Infection Prevention Policy and Surveillance Unit (IPPSU), on
 issues pertaining to the MAS.
- To propose and evaluate changes to the MAS in liaison with Health Support Services (HSS).
- To liaise with WAMRO on issues pertaining to MROs that require a micro-alert code.
- To develop standardised rules for the initiation and modification of micro-alerts on the MAS.

4. Meeting Frequency and Modality

The group will meet annually and as required. Meetings will occur via Microsoft Teams or face to face meetings.

5. Notice of Meeting

MAG members will be forwarded an agenda and associated papers at least five working days prior to the meeting.

6. Quorum

A quorum will consist of the Chairperson and at least 50% of the membership.

7. Code of Conduct

7.1 Code of ethics

The MAG will observe and comply with the WA Public Sector Code of Ethics. A copy of this document can be accessed at the public sector <u>website</u>.

7.2 Conflict of interest

Each MAG member must declare any duality of interest in matters of concern to the MAG including

- verbally declare any potential conflicts of interest (COI) at the commencement of each meeting on matters described on the Agenda
- alert the Chair of any potential COI that may arise during a meeting.

7.3 Decision Making

In making recommendations to WAMRO, the Group will aim for a consensus view.

8. Secretariat

Secretarial support will be provided by the IPPSU, including responsibility for collation and circulation of the agenda, related papers and record of meeting. The Chair and the Secretariat will be responsible to promulgate information to the WA health system through established communication networks.

9. Chairperson

The Chairperson shall be elected annually from the membership. If the Chair is unable to attend a meeting he/she will nominate a proxy Chair

10. Membership

10.1 The MAG is to comprise the following representation:

- PathWest Laboratory Medicine WA Scientist (Chair)
- IP&C staff and/or Clinical Microbiologist/ ID Physician from
 - Royal Perth Bentley Group
 - Fiona Stanley Fremantle Group
 - Sir Charles Gardiner Osborne Park Group
 - King Edward Memorial Hospital
 - Perth Children's Hospital
- Health Service Support (HSS)

- Western Australia Country Health Service IPC representative
- Private Hospital Infection Prevention and Control Specialist
- Secretariat IPPSU
- Other members may be co-opted as required

10.2 Proxy members

Members are to nominate a proxy to the secretariat if they are unable to attend a meeting. Proxy attendees have full decision-making rights.

10.3 Co-opted Members

Representation may be requested from other specialty services or organisations as coopted members from time to time.

10.5 Amendments

The Terms of Reference and Membership of the MAG will be reviewed annually and / or as required and endorsed by the HICWA.

10.6 Current Membership

The current membership is listed in Appendix A

11. Version Control

Version	Date	Change
4	05/10/2023	Review of membership.
3	22/9/2016	Review of TOR membership to include SJG Midland, Joondalup and HSS representative ("in-attendance" membership with non-voting rights), co-opt other members as required
2	28/10/2015	Review of TOR and membership to add FSH, separate PMH and KEMH representatives and Fremantle hospital to nontertiary status. Endorsed by MAG

Version 4: September 2023

This document can be made available in alternative formats on request for a person with a disability.

© Department of Health 2023

Copyright to this material is vested in the State of Western Australia unless otherwise indicated. Apart from any fair dealing for the purposes of private study, research, criticism or review, as permitted under the provisions of the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part may be reproduced or re-used for any purposes whatsoever without written permission of the State of Western Australia.

Appendix 1 Current Membership

Name	Position		
Peta Perry	Chair, Medical Scientist, PathWest		
•			
Dr Penny Clohessy	Infectious Diseases Physician SCGH		
Dr Helen Darragh	Microbiology Consultant Pathwest, FSH		
Dr Lynette Pereira	Consultant Physician, Infectious Diseases, RPH		
Dr Paul Ingram	Consultant Pathologist, FSH		
Dr Michelle Porter	Infectious Diseases Physician and Microbiologist, PCH & KEMH		
Dr Tammy Wijesuriya	Consultant Microbiologist, FSH		
Mary Willimann	IPC Manager, SJG Subiaco, Private sector representative		
Kirsty Friesema	IPC Manager, SJG Midland, Private sector representative		
Tara McRaith	CNC IPC, JHC Ramsay, Private sector representative		
Lisa Summers	A/Coordinator of Nursing, IP&C, SCGH		
Simon Meyer-Henry	Coordinator of Nursing, IP&C, RPH		
Danielle Engelbrecht	Coordinator of Nursing, IP&C, CAHS		
Natasha Nunes	Coordinator of Nursing, IP&C, FSH		
Catherine Jones	CNC, IP&C KEMH		
Mandy Pirrottina	CNS, IP&C, Midwest, WACHS		
Emily McIntyre	CNS, Southwest IP&C, WACHS		
Daphne Gregory	Senior Application Specialist, Business Support HSS		
Laura Hall	Team Leader, Application Specialist, Health Support Services		
Infection Prevention Policy and Surveillance Unit Members and Secretariat			
Rebecca McCann	Program Manager, IPPSU		
Inutu Kashina	Senior Project Officer ICNET, IPPSU		
Lisa Nicolaou	Senior Policy Officer, IPPSU		
Dr Liana Varrone (PhD)	Program Officer (Data), IPPSU		
Olivia Kamau	Program Officer (IPC), IPPSU		
Melanie Trainor	Senior Policy Officer		