

Terms of Reference Western Australia Multi-Resistant Organism Expert Advisory Group

1. Purpose

The purpose of the Western Australia Multi-resistant Organism (WAMRO) Expert Advisory Group (EAG) is to provide advice on monitoring, prevention and control of multi-resistant organisms from a state-wide perspective. This includes the community and all public and private healthcare facilities across the continuum of care including, but not limited to acute care, residential care and primary care.

2. Accountability

Recommendations made by WAMRO will be reported through the Healthcare Infection Council of Western Australia (HICWA) Executive Committee to the Assistant Director General Public and Aboriginal Health Division (ADGPAHD). The ADGPAHD will decide which issues should be taken to the Departmental Executive Committee (DEC); Health Executive Committee (HEC) other relevant internal or external body.

3. Roles and Responsibilities

To provide expert advice to HICWA regarding MROs, including:

- monitoring activity of MROs (nationally and internationally)
- methods for surveillance and reporting
- laboratory responsibilities
- methods to ensure prevention of transmission
- revision of the micro-alert system
- control measures (sporadic cases and outbreaks)
- development of policy relating to MRO surveillance and control
- any other issues concerning MROs that may have an impact on the WA population.

4. Meeting Frequency and Modality

WAMRO EAG will meet quarterly with meetings scheduled prior to the quarterly HICWA meetings to enable timely updates to HICWA. The group may also be called together as required e.g. in an outbreak situation.

Meetings will occur via Microsoft Teams or face to face meetings.

5. Notice of Meeting

WAMRO EAG members will be forwarded an agenda and associated papers at least five working days prior to the meeting.

6. Quorum

A quorum will consist of the Chairperson, or Deputy Chair and at least 50% of the membership.

7. Code of Conduct

7.1 Code of ethics

The WAMRO will observe and comply with the WA Public Sector Code of Ethics. A copy of this document can be accessed at the public sector website.

7.2 Conflict of interest

Each WAMRO member must declare any duality of interest in matters of concern to the WAMRO including

- verbally declare any potential conflicts of interest (COI) at the commencement of each meeting on matters described on the Agenda
- alert the Chair of any potential COI that may arise during a meeting.

7.3 Decision Making

In making recommendations to HICWA, WAMRO will aim for a consensus view. Overall decision approval resides with the Chair.

8. Secretariat

Secretarial support will be provided by the Infection Prevention Policy and Surveillance Unit (IPPSU), including responsibility for collation and circulation of the agenda, related papers and record of meeting. The Chair and the Secretariat will be responsible to promulgate information to the WA health system through established communication networks.

9. Chairperson

The Chairperson shall be the Director, Communicable Disease Control Directorate (CDCD).

10. Membership

10.1 The WAMRO is to comprise the following representation:

- Director, Communicable Disease Control Directorate (Chair)
- Public Health Physician, Communicable Disease Control Directorate (Deputy Co-chair)
- Medical Advisor Infection Prevention and Control Royal Perth Hospital
- Medical Advisor Infection Prevention and Control Fiona Stanley Hospital
- PathWest Microbiology Laboratory Representative Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

- PathWest Microbiology Laboratory Representative King Edward Memorial Hospital/ Perth Children's Hospital
- Critical Antimicrobial Resistances Alert (CARAlert) jurisdictional representative
- PathWest Microbiology Laboratory Representative Regional WA
- Principal Research Scientist, PathWest Clostridium difficile Typing Laboratory
- Principal Research Scientist, PathWest Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus, vancomycin resistant Enterococcus faecium and Neisseria gonorrhoeae Typing Laboratory
- Senior Medical Scientist, PathWest CRE/CPO/colistin Molecular Reference Laboratory
- Private Microbiology Laboratory Representative
- Private Hospital Infection Prevention and Control Specialist
- Program Manager, IPPSU
- Senior Policy Officer, IPPSU
- Senior Program Officer (ICNET) IPPSU
- Program Officer (IP&C Nurse) IPPSU
- Program Officer (Data) IPPSU
- Secretariat Program Officer IPPSU
- Other members may be co-opted as required

10.2 Proxy members

Members are to nominate a proxy to the secretariat if they are unable to attend a meeting. Proxy attendees have full decision-making rights.

10.3 Co-opted Members

Representation may be requested from other specialty services or organisations as coopted members from time to time.

10.5 Amendments

The Terms of Reference and Membership of the WAMRO will be reviewed biennially and / or as required and endorsed by the HICWA.

10.6 Current Membership

The current membership is listed in Appendix A

11. Version Control

Version	Date	Change
V5	November 2023	Reviewed, membership updated, minor amendments.
V4	February 2021	Reviewed, minor amendments, membership adjusted.
V5	August 2017	Reviewed, minor amendments, and changes in terminology
V2	February 2015	Updated to include conflict of interest Statement
V1	February 2012	Initial TOR developed and accepted by WAMRO February 2012

Version 5: August 2023

This document can be made available in alternative formats on request for a person with a disability.

© Department of Health 2023

Copyright to this material is vested in the State of Western Australia unless otherwise indicated. Apart from any fair dealing for the purposes of private study, research, criticism or review, as permitted under the provisions of the *Copyright Act 1968*, no part may be reproduced or re-used for any purposes whatsoever without written permission of the State of Western Australia.

Appendix 1 Current Membership

Name	Position		
Dr Paul Armstrong	Director, Communicable Disease Control Directorate (Chair)		
	, ,		
Dr Rebecca Hogan	Public Health Physician, Senior Medical Advisor, CDCD (Deputy		
Drofosour Coeff Coemba	Chair)		
Professor Geoff Coombs	Chair of Public Health, Murdoch University. Senior Clinical Scientist, FSH, PathWest Laboratory Medicine		
Dr David Speers	Infectious Diseases Physician, North Metropolitan Health Service		
Dr Smathi Chong	Private Pathology Representative		
Dr Paul Ingram	Critical Antimicrobial Resistances Alert (CARAlert) Jurisdictional		
	Representative		
Dr Michael Leung	Clinical Microbiologist, PathWest Microbiology Laboratory Representative Regional WA		
Dr Lynette Pereira	Infectious Diseases Physician, East Metropolitan Health Service		
Dr Michelle Porter	Microbiologist Infectious Diseases Physician, CAHS, KEMH		
Professor Tom Riley	Principal Research Scientist PathWest Clostridioides difficile Typing Laboratory		
Dr Tammy Wijesuriya	Consultant Microbiologist PathWest, FSH		
Mary Willimann	Infection Control Consultant, private sector representative		
Jake Gazeley	Senior Medical Scientist, PathWest		
Dr Lokesh Garg	Senior Consultant Physician, Representative WACHS		
Infection Prevention Policy and Surveillance Unit Members and Secretariat			
Rebecca McCann	Program Manager, IPPSU		
Inutu Kashina	Senior Project Officer ICNET, IPPSU		
Lisa Nicolaou	Senior Policy Officer, IPPSU		
Dr Liana Varrone (PhD)	Program Officer (Data), IPPSU		
Olivia Kamau	Program Officer (IPC), IPPSU		
Melanie Trainor	Senior Policy Officer		