Program governance structure

The Sustainable Health Review (SHR) includes an Independent Oversight Committee, Program Steering Committee, Sustainable Health Review (SHR) Partnership Group and Program Board.

View the governance structure (PDF 107KB)

Independent Oversight Committee

The Sustainable Health Review Independent Oversight Committee (IOC) will oversee and guide the health system as it works to implement the Sustainable Health Review (SHR).

The Committee will play a pivotal role working with WA Health to ensure the intent of the SHR is brought to life as the system embeds the change required.

Sustainable Health Independent Oversight Committee

Professor Hugo Mascie-Taylor (Chair) - Former Medical Director of the NHS Confederation; Medical Director of Monitor; Executive Medical Director Leeds Teaching Hospitals; and Trust Special Administrator of Mid-Staffordshire Foundation Trust.

Dr Richard Choong - Clinical Representative – General Practitioner, WA Primary Health Alliance Board Chair, Chair of Australian General Practice Accreditation Limited and past president of the Australian Medical Association (WA).

Ms Margaret Doherty - Consumer Advocate - Founder and conveyor of Mental Health Matters 2, current member of the WA Mental Health Advisory Council and mental health advocate and consumer representative on a number of other committees.

Mr Tim Marney –. Former Western Australian Under Treasurer for close to a decade; Mental Health Commissioner for Western Australia for more than five years with wide-ranging experience in economics, finance and human services.

Ms Lesley Nelson – Regional and Non-Government Representative – has held executive positions in the Aboriginal Community Controlled Organisation in both WA and NSW and current Chief Executive Officer of South West Aboriginal Medical Service.

Ms Elizabeth Prime - Clinical Representative - Director of Nursing at the Joondalup Health Campus, Adjunct Associate Professor at Curtin University, Nursing, midwifery and Paramedicine and member of the Australian College of Nursing.

Professor Fiona Wood - WA health system clinical representative - Professor Wood is one of Australia’s most innovative and respected surgeons and researchers, who has pioneered research and technology development in burns medicine. Her many positions include Director of the Burns Service of Western Australia.


Partnership Group

The SHR Partnership Group comprises leads central to state-wide health system engagement, reform and embedding transformational change. This is an advisory body to the Program Steering Committee and Independent Oversight Committee that will collectively progress opportunities, resolve issues, test approaches and provide advice as required on Program components.

Test program approaches, tackle issues and problem solve – as a point for testing Program approaches, strategic dialogue, debate and providing advice on complex decisions, working together to unblock persistent or system-level constraints.

Support cross-cutting engagement – by seeking connections and taking a cross system portfolio view, understanding dependencies and supporting agencies to work across boundaries.

Drive transformational change – by actively leading the change thinking for the Program, considering local innovation, emergent trends, global best practice and long-lasting implementation across the system.

Membership of the SHR Partnership Group includes nominees of the Director General of the Department of Health as Program Owner including nominated leaders from across the WA health sector including key external partners and consumers.

Last reviewed: 16-12-2020