Community Program for Opioid Pharmacotherapy (CPOP)

The Pharmaceutical Services Branch administers the regulatory controls for the Community Program for Opioid Pharmacotherapy (CPOP) in Western Australia as set out in the Poisons Regulations 1965 (external site). The CPOP provides opioid replacement treatment in primary health care settings.

Current pharmacotherapies available are methadone as a syrup or solution and buprenorphine as Subutex® or with naloxone as Suboxone®. Medical practitioners and pharmacies require approval to participate in the CPOP.

For the clinical policies and procedures for the use of methodone and buprenorphine visit the Drug and Alcohol Office (external site).

For consumer information and general information on the CPOP visit HealthyWA (external site)

Applications and forms

For prescribers

For pharmacists

Forms should be completed and sent to the Chief Pharmacist, Pharmaceutical Services Branch.

Fax: 9222 2463
Postal address:
Pharmaceutical Services Branch
Department of Health
PO Box 8172
Perth Business Centre
Perth WA 6849

Produced by

Pharmaceutical Services Branch